A cybersecurity vendor's website turns about 1.6% of its unique visitors into a lead. That is the cybersecurity row in First Page Sage's 2025 SaaS funnel table, drawn from the SEO agency's own client accounts, and it sits just above the 1.1% the same agency reports for B2B SaaS as a whole. Only about four in every 10,000 visitors end up as a signed customer once the later funnel stages are applied.
This page covers the whole site of a company selling security software or services to businesses: the lead rate, the stages after it, free trial conversion, and the channels behind the average. It also covers what security buyers say they look for, since that decides which pages are worth testing. Our B2B SaaS Website Conversion Rate Statistics 2026 post holds the general software tables, and the form-level data sits in Demo Request Conversion Rates 2026.
There is one cybersecurity benchmark, and it comes from an agency
No analyst firm or trade body publishes a website conversion dataset for security vendors. The only figure with a cybersecurity label comes from First Page Sage, an SEO agency, and covers its SaaS clients. Everything else is a near neighbour: B2B SaaS, IT and managed services, software, or SaaS landing pages.
| Source | Dataset | What counts | Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| First Page Sage, 2025 | SaaS clients, funnel by vertical | Lead per unique visitor, cybersecurity row | 1.6% |
| First Page Sage, 2025 | Clients, January 2022 to August 2025 | Any conversion action per unique visitor | IT and managed services 1.5%; B2B SaaS 1.1%; software development 1.1% |
| Ruler Analytics, 2026 | 110M+ sessions, 13 industries | Qualified lead or sale, online and offline, multi-touch | Software 7.6%; all industries 5.13% |
| Unbounce, 2024 | Landing pages on its builder | Any landing page goal | SaaS 3.8% median; data and infrastructure 3.3% |
Source: the publishers named in column one; Ruler and Unbounce sell the tools that measure these figures
The two low figures agree because they divide a sales-relevant action by unique visitors to a whole site. Ruler sells call tracking and attribution, so its 7.6% for software folds in phone calls and offline sales and credits more than one touch. Unbounce's 3.8% measures single campaign pages, where a visitor has usually clicked an ad for one offer. The closest Unbounce sub-category to a security product is data and infrastructure, at 3.3%.
For a managed security service provider, the IT and managed services row at 1.5% is the better proxy. For a product company, use the cybersecurity row at 1.6%. Both come from one agency's clients, whose organic traffic is warmer than most, so treat them as a reasonable upper middle rather than a floor.
The cybersecurity funnel, stage by stage
First Page Sage publishes the only full funnel with a cybersecurity row. The visitor-to-lead rate is middling, but the next stage is one of the strongest in the table: 44% of cybersecurity leads become marketing-qualified, against 38% for fintech and 36% for CRMs.
| Stage | Rate | Running total from 10,000 visitors |
|---|---|---|
| Visitor to lead | 1.6% | 160 leads |
| Lead to MQL | 44% | 70 MQLs |
| MQL to SQL | 38% | 27 SQLs |
| SQL to opportunity | 40% | 11 opportunities |
| Opportunity to close | 39% | 4 closed deals |
Source: First Page Sage, average SaaS conversion rates, cybersecurity row, tables labelled 2025 on a page first dated 2024-02-29; running totals are our arithmetic
End to end, about 0.04% of visitors become customers. Fintech, in the same table, reaches about 0.05%. Across the 17 SaaS verticals the agency lists, visitor-to-lead runs from 0.9% for design and telecom software to 2.3% for chemical and pharmaceutical software, so cybersecurity sits a little above the middle.
Free trials and freemium. Fewer security products offer a trial, and the ones that do convert less of their traffic into it. First Page Sage reports 7.4% of cybersecurity visitors starting a free trial, third lowest of 16 verticals after enterprise software at 5.5% and proptech at 7.1%. Once in, 21.9% of trial users pay, close to the middle of an 18.6% to 29.0% range. That works out at about 1.6% of visitors becoming paying accounts, the same share that becomes a lead on a sales-led site. The freemium path is 11.9% of visitors signing up and 3.3% paying, about 0.4% end to end.
What a customer costs. First Page Sage's SaaS acquisition cost report, built from 12 years of client campaigns, puts the blended cost of a security customer at $174 for a consumer, $805 for a small business, $5,287 for the middle market and $10,221 for an enterprise. Its separate B2B report finds paid channels cost cybersecurity firms 48% more per customer than organic ones, $512 against $345, and notes that the lowest costs come from PR, paid list placements and SEO.
| Customer type | Average CAC |
|---|---|
| Consumer | $174 |
| Small business | $805 |
| Middle market | $5,287 |
| Enterprise | $10,221 |
Source: First Page Sage, Average CAC for SaaS Businesses by Industry and Customer Type, 2025-08-29; blended organic and paid
At those costs, raising the lead rate from 1.6% to 2.0% matters less than making sure the extra leads are the right size. A site that doubles small-business sign-ups while enterprise demo requests stay flat has grown its volume and lowered its average deal.
Who the website is talking to
Conversion rates on security sites are shaped by a buying group that does much of its research elsewhere. ActualTech Media and Future B2B's 2025 Cybersecurity Buyers Report, a survey run in 2024 by a media company that sells webinar programmes to security vendors, asked buyers how they learn and how they buy. The report does not state its sample size.
| Question | Finding |
|---|---|
| Where they prefer to learn about new solutions | Ranked: analyst reports, recommendations from industry friends, webinars, trade shows, social media, podcasts |
| Who makes the final decision | IT management 46.7%; CEO or CFO 32.3%; CISO or security management 16.7%; procurement or other 4.4% |
| Preferred way to buy | Directly from the vendor 64.0%, up from 49.0% in 2023 |
| Prefer to buy direct, by company size | Small 70.9%; medium 59.4%; large 64.8% |
| Budget planning horizon | 30 days or less 10.2%; 1 to 3 months 26.5%; 3 to 6 months 34.9%; 6 to 12 months 22.9%; more than 12 months 5.5% |
| Top deciding factor | Product features first, price second; third-party reviews ranked lower |
Source: ActualTech Media and Future B2B, 2025 Cybersecurity Buyers Report, published November 2024; vendor-adjacent survey, sample size not stated
Three things follow for a website. First, the visitor is often not the person who signs: in small companies, the report found almost half need a CEO or CFO sign-off. Second, 28.4% of buyers plan budgets six months or more ahead, so a visit today may not produce a lead until the next budget round. Third, the rise in buyers preferring to go direct is a reason to make pricing, packaging and a buying path visible, although the report itself warns that a preference to buy direct does not mean buyers will click "Buy now".
The traffic sources behind the median
A whole-site rate is a weighted average of channels. The cuts below define conversion differently, so compare down a column, not across.
| Channel | Software, Ruler 2026 | SaaS, First Page Sage 2023 | Enterprise B2B, First Page Sage 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Organic search | 7.9% | 1.9% | 1.6% |
| Paid search | 8.2% | 1.0% | 1.2% |
| 4.0% | 2.3% | 1.4% | |
| Referral | 4.6% | 1.3% | 0.6% |
| Direct | 6.4% | 1.4% | 1.3% |
| Organic social | Not reported | 1.4% | 0.9% |
| Paid social | Not reported | 0.7% | 0.2% |
| Display | Not reported | 0.4% | 0.1% |
Source: Ruler Analytics, conversion rate by industry, 2026; First Page Sage, conversion rate by traffic source, 41 SaaS clients and B2B clients by target audience, 2018 to 2023
Search leads in both datasets. Ruler ranks paid and organic search highest for software and also reports AI assistant referrals converting at 7.9%, level with organic search, on still small volumes. In First Page Sage's 2025 SaaS funnel by channel, LinkedIn produces the highest visitor-to-lead rate at 2.2%, then SEO at 2.1%, email at 1.3%, webinars at 0.9% and paid search at 0.7%.
The enterprise column matters for security vendors selling upmarket. Every channel converts lower when the buyer is a large company: First Page Sage reports SEO at 3.6% for SME targets and 1.6% for enterprise, and paid social falling from 1.5% to 0.2%. A vendor moving from SMB to enterprise should expect its whole-site rate to fall, even as deal size rises.
Ruler's previous year shows how much the definition moves the number. Its 2025 figures for a "B2B Tech" segment, kept on the same page as historical data, put full-year paid search at 1.5%, organic search at 2.5% and social at 0.3%. Ruler says its 2026 averages are notably higher than earlier years, so a site comparing itself with last year's report and this year's could see a gap that is not its own.
Calls barely matter here. In Ruler's 2026 data, 88.6% of software conversions arrive by form and 11.4% by phone, against more than half by phone in legal services. A security site can track forms and demo bookings and capture most of what it converts.
Traffic volume. HubSpot's web trends report, citing First Page Sage, puts the average cybersecurity website at 19,450 monthly unique sessions, against 12,206 for IT and managed services and 21,410 for B2B SaaS. At 1.6%, that is about 310 leads a month and, through the stage rates above, around eight closed deals. That is an illustration, not a measurement.
What this means for a cybersecurity site: a five-page test order
The numbers point to a site that converts a middling share of visitors, qualifies them well and then waits months for budget. Testing should aim at lead quality and the buying group rather than raw form volume. We build marketing sites in Webflow, and on a site like this we would wire demo requests, trial starts and qualified pipeline into the same reporting before running any test, then work in this order.
1. The homepage audience split. Security vendors sell to IT managers, CISOs and the executives who sign. Test a homepage that names the problem for each audience and routes them to it, against a single product message, measured on the share of visitors who reach a product or solution page.
2. The product page proof block. Buyers rank features first and learn from analysts and peers. Test a block that shows what the product detects or prevents, with analyst coverage and named customers, against a feature list alone, measured on demo requests from that page.
3. Pricing and packaging. With 64% preferring to buy direct, a visible starting price or package list is worth testing against "contact sales". Judge it on qualified pipeline, since a pricing page can cut form volume and improve deal fit at the same time.
4. The trust and compliance page. Certifications, data handling, sub-processors and a security contact are what a buyer's own security team checks. Test linking to it from the demo and trial forms, and watch completion rates.
5. The demo and trial path. At 1.6% visitor-to-lead and 7.4% visitor-to-trial, this is where the website's work ends. Test form length, and for trial products test asking for company size, so enterprise sign-ups reach sales the same day.
Run the order against your own funnel, from visitor to closed deal, not against a single form count. Our marketing website service builds that tracking into every site we deliver.


