A B2B SaaS website converts about 1.1% of its visitors into a lead. First Page Sage reports that figure as the lowest of 24 industries in its client data for 2022 to 2025, and HockeyStack reached the same 1.1% independently in December 2025: one high-intent form submission for every 91 unique visitors across 80 B2B SaaS companies.
This page covers the whole site: visitor to lead, visitor to trial, trial to paid, the pricing page's share of traffic and conversion by source. Landing page medians are in our Landing Page Conversion Rates by Industry 2026 post.
The whole-site median is about 1%, and higher figures measure something else
Every published rate depends on two choices: what counts as a visitor and what counts as a conversion.
| Source | Dataset | What counts | Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| First Page Sage, 2025 | Agency clients, 24 industries | Any lead action per unique visitor | B2B SaaS 1.1%; IT and managed services 1.5%; legal 7.4% |
| HockeyStack, 2025 | 80 B2B SaaS companies | Demo, pricing or contact submission per unique visitor | 1.1% |
| Databox, Nov 2023 | B2B benchmark group, all sectors | GA4 session conversion, any goal | 2.3% per session; 2.5% per user |
| Ruler Analytics, 2025 | B2B tech, by channel | Qualified lead or sale, including calls, multi-touch | 0.3% to 2.5% |
| Ruler Analytics, 2026 | 110M+ sessions, 13 industries | Qualified lead or sale, online and offline | Software 7.6%; all industries 5.13% |
| Unbounce | 41,000+ landing pages | Any landing page goal | SaaS landing pages 3.8% |
Source: the publishers named in column one
The two 1.1% figures agree because they count the same thing: a sales-relevant form divided by unique visitors to the whole site. Ruler Analytics' 7.6% is not wrong, but Ruler sells call tracking and attribution, and its definition folds in phone calls, offline conversions and multi-touch credit. HubSpot's web trends report repeats Ruler's 2.7% for B2B services and calls 3% "solid"; a SaaS team reading its 1.2% against that will diagnose a problem it does not have.
Visitor to trial, trial to paid: the self-serve funnel
For product-led SaaS the lead is a sign-up and the rate splits into two stages. First Page Sage publishes both from 86 SaaS clients (71% B2B), 2022 to 2025.
| Trial model | Visitor to trial, organic | Visitor to trial, paid | Trial to paid, organic | Trial to paid, paid |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Opt-in trial, no card | 8.5% | 7.1% | 18.2% | 17.4% |
| Opt-out trial, card up front | 2.5% | 2.2% | 48.8% | 51% |
| Freemium | 13.3% | 15.9% | 2.6% | 2.8% |
Source: First Page Sage, SaaS free trial conversion rate benchmarks, 86 companies, 2025
Multiply the stages and the models converge: on organic traffic an opt-in trial turns about 1.5% of visitors into paying accounts, an opt-out trial about 1.2% and freemium about 0.35%. First Page Sage counts a single paid month as an opt-out conversion, so the 48.8% needs reading alongside churn. The card moves the filter to the start of the trial; it does not create buyers.
Growth Unhinged's February 2026 report with ChartMogul and ProductLed is the larger source for the second stage: 200 B2B software products, mostly at $1M to $10M ARR, with free-to-paid defined as sign-ups paying within six months. The median is 8%. Free trials are the primary landing point for 57% of products, 80% ask for no card, and trials that require one convert 30%.
| Model | OpenView and Pendo 2023, good / great | ChartMogul 2026, 50th / 75th percentile | First Page Sage 2025, organic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Freemium, self-serve | 3% to 5% / 6% to 8% | 3% to 5% / 8% to 12% | 2.6% |
| Free trial, no card | 8% to 12% / 15% to 25% | 4% to 6% / 10% to 15% | 18.2% |
| Free trial, card required | Not split | 25% to 35% / 50% to 60% | 48.8% |
Source: Lenny's Newsletter with OpenView and Pendo, 1,000+ products, 2023; ChartMogul 2026 table as reproduced by Userpilot; First Page Sage 2025
The columns disagree on the no-card trial by a factor of three because of the samples. First Page Sage's clients pay an SEO agency, so their organic traffic is warmer than average; the 2023 OpenView and Pendo survey found developer-focused companies at a 5% median, half the rate of the rest. The 2026 ChartMogul percentiles are the most recent and most conservative: plan on that column and treat First Page Sage as the ceiling.
The spread is wider than the median
The 8% median hides a bimodal shape. In the 2026 data, 20% of free-trial products convert below 2.5%, 30% land between 2.5% and 7.5%, and 23% convert above 25%. Freemium is flatter: 25% below 2.5%, 29% at 2.5% to 7.5%, 25% at 10% to 15%. The top 20% of self-serve products convert roughly ten times the bottom 20%.
Sector matters less. In First Page Sage's vertical table, IoT tools sign up 12.6% of visitors and convert 25.2% of trials while enterprise software sits at 5.5% and 18.6%: two to one between verticals, against ten to one between companies.
The pricing page takes a sixth of all visits
HockeyStack's December 2025 study is the only published dataset that measures where B2B SaaS visitors go once they arrive. The pricing page is the site's second destination; the demo page barely registers.
| Page | Share of site traffic | Bounce rate | Conversion rate of page visitors |
|---|---|---|---|
| Whole site | 100% | 59% | 1.1% per unique visitor |
| Pricing | 16.5% | 39% | 3.8% |
| Demo or contact sales | 0.91% | 70% | 5.5% |
Source: HockeyStack, 80 B2B SaaS companies, 2025
Pricing pages draw 13 times the unique visitors of demo pages and hold them 1.8 times longer, so they produce most submissions. Transparency changes the shape, not the total: the 62.5% of sites that publish prices convert the pricing page at 2.8% against 4.6% for sites that hide them, but their submissions turn into pipeline at 17.5% against 10.31%. Hiding the price collects forms from people who wanted a number. Case study pages take 0.76% of traffic, and visitors who read one first are 18% more likely to become an opportunity.
The traffic sources behind the medians
A whole-site rate is a weighted average of its channels, and the mix moves it more than any page change. The three columns use different definitions, so compare within a column, not across.
| Channel | Software, Ruler 2026 | B2B tech, Ruler 2025 full year | B2B, First Page Sage (leads per visitor) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Paid search | 8.2% | 1.5% | 1.5% (PPC and SEM) |
| Organic search | 7.9% | 2.5% | 2.6% (thought leadership SEO) |
| AI referral | 7.9% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 4.0% | 2.5% | 2.4% | |
| Organic social | 2.74% | 0.3% (all social) | 1.7% |
| Paid social | 1.7% | 0.3% (all social) | 0.9% |
Source: Ruler Analytics 2026 and 2025; First Page Sage conversion rate by channel, 2025
The order is stable even where the levels are not: search, paid, organic or AI-referred, converts two to five times better than social on every cut. First Page Sage adds two sources Ruler does not track, account-based marketing at 3.8% and webinars at 2.3%, both ahead of every paid channel. Unbounce's SaaS landing page data ranks the same way, higher: email 16.9%, paid search 4.1%, paid social 2.9%. Contentsquare puts AI referral at 0.2% of all traffic, so Ruler's 7.9% rests on a small base.
Review sites (G2, Capterra, TrustRadius): lead quality and conversion rate
No published dataset gives a visitor-to-lead rate for traffic from software review sites alone. The nearest is Ruler Analytics' 2026 referral channel, which groups review sites with partner pages and directories and converts software traffic at 4.6%: below paid and organic search, above email. The rest of the evidence splits into lead quality, from attribution data, and buyer behaviour, from the review sites' own surveys.
| Measure | Figure | Source and sample | Who published it |
|---|---|---|---|
| High-intent forms that name G2 | 1.35% | HockeyStack, 51 B2B SaaS companies, Q1 2024 | Attribution vendor, not a review site |
| MQL to SQL, G2 leads against the rest | 22% higher | HockeyStack, as above | As above |
| Close rate, G2 opportunities against the rest | 21% higher | HockeyStack, as above | As above |
| Sales cycle, G2 deals | 26.5% shorter | HockeyStack, as above | As above |
| Average contract value, G2 deals | 14.5% lower | HockeyStack, as above | As above |
| Software referral traffic, review sites included | 4.6% | Ruler Analytics, 2026 | Attribution vendor |
| Shortlist influence: AI chatbots, review sites, vendor sites | 17.1%, 15.1%, 12.8% | G2 Buyer Behavior Report, 1,100 decision-makers, 2025 | Review site, vendor-sourced |
| Buyers who looked at user reviews before buying | 77% | TrustRadius, 2,058 technology buyers, 2025 | Review site, vendor-sourced |
Source: the publishers named in column three
Lead quality. HockeyStack read about 20,000 self-reported "how did you hear about us" answers on demo, pricing and contact forms. It included only companies with at least one G2 answer, which flatters the channel. Within that sample, G2 leads were few but better: they reached SQL 17% faster, closed more often and sooner, and signed smaller contracts. Its 2023 data had the same shape: review sites drove 1.8% of conversions and 2.66% of revenue.
Buyer use. In G2's 2025 report, enterprise buyers named review sites their top research source at 56%; SMB buyers put Google first at 47% and review sites at 38%. TrustRadius found 77% of buyers looked at user reviews. Both publishers earn their revenue from the vendors they list, so read these as vendor claims about their own channel.
What does not exist. We found no independent win rate, deal size or cycle length for Capterra or TrustRadius leads, and no published visitor-to-demo rate for review-site referrals. Tag review-site clicks with UTM parameters, keep a "how did you hear about us" field on demo forms, and compare the channel's SQL rate, close rate and cycle in your own CRM.
What this means for a B2B SaaS site: a five-page test order
Two more numbers set the frame. Contentsquare's 2026 benchmark, 99 billion sessions across 6,500 websites, found conversion down 5.1% and visits down 3.8% year on year. HubSpot's web trends report, citing First Page Sage, puts the average B2B SaaS site at 21,410 monthly sessions. At 1.1% that is about 235 high-intent submissions a month; the pricing page, at 16.5% of traffic and 3.8%, produces about 134 of them, and the demo page, at 0.91% and 5.5%, about 11. Those are illustrations, not measurements, but they explain why a demo-page test never concludes and they set the order below. On the sites we build in Webflow, pricing and demo events are wired before launch for that reason.
1. Homepage. It feeds every other page. Test the route to pricing, not the hero copy: the share of visitors reaching the pricing page is the metric, 16.5% the benchmark.
2. Pricing. The most high-intent visitors and the most submissions. Test transparency first, a published tier against a "talk to sales" tier, measured on pipeline rate, since submissions and pipeline move in opposite directions.
3. Demo or contact sales. At 0.91% of traffic it cannot support a classic test, so change it on evidence from elsewhere; the Demo Request Conversion Rates 2026 post has the form data.
4. Product pages. Where search visitors land, and search converts two to five times better than social. Test page depth and the position of the pricing link, with the pricing visit as the goal.
5. Comparison pages. The highest-intent organic traffic a SaaS site gets and the page most teams never build. Treat it as a second pricing page, measured against 3.8%.
Run the order against your own numerator and denominator. Our marketing website service builds the tracking for that into every site.


