Tools

Client Portal Software in 2026: 12 Options Compared on Permissions, Branding and Price

Twelve client portal options compared on published permissions, white-label branding and real price for a three-person team with 40 clients, read from each vendor's own pages.

Summarize with AI
Octo Agency cover: Client Portal Software in 2026, with a purple hexagon pattern

A branded client portal for a three-person team with 40 clients costs anything from $19 a month on SuiteDash's Start plan to $399 a month on FuseBase's Advanced plan, according to the vendors' own pricing pages read on 27 October 2026. The difference is not mostly about features. It is about how each tool counts users and which plan first lets you put your own domain and logo on the login screen.

This page compares eleven portal products and one custom build on the three things that decide whether a portal fits: permissions, branding and price. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing page, read on 27 October 2026, so treat each one as a vendor's claim about its own product and check it again before you buy.

The 12 options at a glance

Client portal software falls into three groups. Portal-first products are built around one job: a branded place where clients log in, see files, sign things, pay and message. All-in-one agency suites bundle a portal with CRM, proposals and invoicing. Portal builders give you a database and a page builder, and you assemble the portal yourself. The twelfth option is to build one in code.

Client portal software by type and entry price, October 2026
OptionTypeCheapest paid plan as listedWho it suits
Assembly (formerly Copilot)Portal-firstStarter $29 a month billed annually, $49 monthlyService firms that want a polished portal with billing
SuiteDashAll-in-one suiteStart $19 a month, $180 a yearSmall firms that want everything for a flat fee
MoxoPortal-first, workflowNot publishedRegulated firms with multi-step client processes
ClinkedPortal-first, file sharingStart Up $11 per user a monthDocument-heavy firms: accounting, legal, finance
FuseBasePortal and workspaceSolo $32 to $39 a monthTeams that live in shared docs and wikis
SoftrPortal builderBasic $19 a monthTeams with data in Airtable, Sheets or a database
NolocoPortal builderBuild $65 a month billed annually, $79 monthlyTeams that need record and field rules
PlutioAll-in-one suiteCore $19 a month, $190 a yearFreelancers and small studios
ManyRequestsAgency request portalCore $39 a month billed annually, $59 monthlyProductised agencies taking client requests
HoneyBookAll-in-one suiteStarter $29 a month billed yearlySolo service businesses, US-focused
DubsadoAll-in-one suiteStarter $335 a yearSolo service businesses with forms and contracts
Custom build (Next.js and a database)CodeHosting from about $45 a month, plus the buildPortals that are part of the product

Sources: each vendor's pricing page; Supabase and Vercel pricing for the custom build hosting estimate, all read 2026-10-27

Our earlier post, Client Portal Requirements Checklist: 40 Questions Across Users, Permissions, Documents and Billing, covers what to decide before choosing. This page assumes you have answered those questions and now need to know which tools can meet the answers.

Permissions: the column most comparisons skip

A client portal is an access control system with a login page in front. OWASP's 2025 data found "some form of broken access control" in 100% of the applications tested, with 1,839,701 recorded occurrences. In a portal, that failure looks like one client seeing another client's invoice. Most tools handle the basic case well: each client sees its own space. The differences appear when you need more than that.

Three levels of permission matter in practice. Level one is client separation: client A cannot see client B. Level two is roles inside a client: the client's finance lead sees invoices, their marketing lead does not. Level three is record and field rules: a user sees only rows they own, or a field is hidden from one role.

Permission features as published on each pricing page, October 2026
OptionWhat the pricing page listsPlan where it appears
AssemblyClient access permissions, audit log, enforced MFA; custom SSOAdvanced; SSO on Enterprise
SuiteDashNo role or permission features describedNot stated
MoxoRole-based access control, SAML SSO, audit trailNot tied to a plan
ClinkedRole-based permissions; Active Directory and SSOPremium; SSO on Enterprise
FuseBaseGranular permissions and groupsAdvanced and Unlimited
SoftrGranular permissions and visibility; two-factor authenticationPro; 2FA on Business
Noloco2 user roles on Free, unlimited on Build; record and field permissions; SSO and audit logsBuild; SSO on Enterprise
PlutioNo roles described; SSO as a $5 add-onSSO add-on on Pro, included on Max
ManyRequestsNo role settings describedNot stated
HoneyBookRoles and permissions in the comparison tablePlan not clear from the page
Dubsado"Customize the account access for each user"Not tied to a plan
Custom buildWhatever the data model enforcesNot applicable

Source: vendor pricing pages, read 2026-10-27

What "not stated" means. A blank here does not prove a tool lacks roles. It means the pricing page does not say, which is where most buyers compare. Ask the vendor for a screenshot of its role editor before you sign.

The builders are different. Softr and Noloco let you write rules against your own data, so level three is possible. That flexibility moves the risk to you: a rule written wrongly shows the wrong rows, and no vendor will notice.

Branding: what "white label" means on each plan

Vendors use "white label" for three different things: your logo and colours, your own domain, and the removal of the vendor's name from the screen and from emails. Only the last one makes the portal look like yours to a client.

Where each branding feature first appears, October 2026
OptionCustom domainVendor name removedBranded emails or app
AssemblyProfessionalProfessional (badge removed)Not stated
SuiteDashNot stated per plan"Extreme White Labeling" from StartBranded mobile app from Start
MoxoNot stated"Branded" portals, plan not statedNot stated
ClinkedStandard ($239)Not statedWhite-label emails on Premium; white-label app on Enterprise
FuseBaseAdvanced (in FAQ)White label on AdvancedNot stated
SoftrBasic ($19)Pro ($99)Not stated
NolocoListed, plan not readableBadge on Free; full white label on EnterpriseBranded SMTP as an add-on
PlutioNot mentioned$9 a month add-on on Core and Pro; included on MaxNot stated
ManyRequestsCoreProCustom emails on Pro; branded app on Enterprise
HoneyBookListed, plan not clearEssentialsNot stated
DubsadoNot mentionedNot mentionedNot mentioned
Custom buildYesYesYes

Source: vendor pricing pages, read 2026-10-27

The cheapest route to a portal with your own domain and no vendor badge is usually not the cheapest plan. ManyRequests puts the custom domain on Core but keeps "Powered by" until Pro. Softr gives you a domain on Basic and removes its branding on Pro. Clinked offers your own domain on Standard but lists white-label notification emails only on Premium, so clients still receive emails that mention Clinked on the lower plan unless the vendor says otherwise.

Price: what a three-person team with 40 clients pays

List prices hide the counting rules. To compare like for like, we priced one scenario: three staff, 40 client companies with one login each, own domain, vendor name removed where the page lets you. These are list prices from the pricing pages; we did not buy each tool.

Monthly cost for 3 staff and 40 clients with branding, October 2026
OptionPlan neededMonthly costWhy that plan
SuiteDashStart$19 monthly, or $15 on yearly billingUnlimited staff and clients on every plan, white labelling from Start
DubsadoStarterAbout $28 ($335 a year)Three additional users free; branding not stated
PlutioPro plus white-label add-on$58Core is solo and capped at 9 active clients
NolocoBuild$65 annual, $79 monthlyFree caps client seats at 50 and keeps the badge
AssemblyProfessional$99 billed annuallyStarter has 1 internal user and no custom domain
SoftrPro$9910 team plus 50 client users; branding removed
HoneyBookPremium$109 billed yearlyEssentials allows up to 2 team members
ManyRequestsPro plus 2 seats$129 annual, $159 monthly1 seat included; the page also shows 10 seats, so ask
ClinkedStandard$239Start Up stops at 25 users; Standard includes 100 members
FuseBaseAdvanced$266 to $399White label listed only from Advanced
MoxoNot publishedAsk for a quoteNo public pricing
Custom buildHosting onlyAbout $45, plus the buildSupabase Pro from $25 and one Vercel Pro seat at $20

Sources: vendor pricing pages; Supabase and Vercel pricing, read 2026-10-27

Several pages contradict themselves. Clinked shows Premium at $599 on the plan card and $479 in its comparison table. Noloco gives the extra seat price as both $5 and $6. ManyRequests shows one seat on its plan cards and five or ten in its limits table. FuseBase shows two prices per plan without saying which is monthly. Screenshot the page on the day you subscribe.

The scenario moves the ranking. Double the clients to 80 and Softr Pro runs out of client users at 50, so Business at $329 applies or extra users are bought. Grow to six staff and Assembly's Professional limit of 3 internal users pushes you to Advanced, which its page shows at $499 billed annually. SuiteDash's flat model wins on headcount growth, though its page marks unlimited clients and staff with an asterisk.

Agency suites, portal-first tools and builders

All-in-one suites. SuiteDash, Plutio, HoneyBook and Dubsado are cheapest when you would otherwise pay for a CRM, proposals and invoicing separately. The portal is one module among many. Expect less control over what each client user sees, and check whether the portal works without the rest of the suite.

Portal-first tools. Assembly, Clinked, Moxo and FuseBase put the client experience first. Assembly bundles messaging, billing and apps. Clinked leans towards secure file exchange, with a virtual data room tier. Moxo is built around multi-step workflows with approvals, and its pricing page lists role-based access control and audit trails without a price.

Request portals for agencies. ManyRequests is narrower: clients submit and track requests against a service catalogue. It suits productised agencies. It is not a document vault.

Builders. Softr and Noloco connect to data you already have and let you lay out pages for each user group. They are the right choice when the portal is mostly views on your own data: project status from Airtable, invoices from a database, files from a drive. Budget time to design the data model and the permission rules, because that work is yours.

When a custom build is the better answer

Our bias first: we build applications in Next.js, so we are more likely than a software vendor to recommend building. With that said, most firms should not build a portal. If one of the eleven products above meets your permission grid and branding needs, a subscription will be cheaper for years.

A custom build starts to make sense in four cases.

  1. The portal is part of your product. Clients pay for the experience inside it, so it has to match your design system and roadmap.
  2. Your permission rules are unusual. Multi-level client hierarchies, per-field visibility tied to contract terms, or rules no vendor's role editor can express.
  3. Data has to stay in your own database or region, for a client contract or a regulator, and no vendor's hosting option fits.
  4. Per-user pricing breaks your model. At several hundred client logins, a seat-priced tool can cost more each year than running your own.

Hosting itself is not the expensive part. Supabase lists its Pro plan from $25 a month with 100,000 monthly active users included, and Vercel lists a Pro developer seat at $20 a month; its Hobby plan is for "personal, non-commercial use", so a client portal needs Pro. The cost is the build, the testing of every permission rule, and the upkeep.

On a portal project, we would model the permission grid in the database first and test it with fake clients before any screen is designed, because changing who can see what after launch touches the data model, the API and every screen at once.

What this means for choosing client portal software

Start with the permission grid, not the feature list. Cut every tool that cannot express your grid on a plan you can afford. Then price your real scenario, with your staff count and client count, on each remaining tool's page, and note which plan first removes the vendor's name. Most shortlists end at two or three products after those two passes.

Run a two-week trial with two fake clients and one real one who is friendly. Watch where they get lost, and test what happens when you remove someone's access. If none of the products holds up, our web apps service page explains how we scope a custom portal.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best client portal software for a small agency?

It depends on how you count people. For three staff and 40 clients, SuiteDash's Start plan is the cheapest branded option at $19 a month on its pricing page, while Softr Pro at $99 and Assembly Professional at $99 billed annually give finer permission control. ManyRequests suits agencies that sell productised services through a request form. Price your own staff and client numbers on each pricing page before deciding.

How much does client portal software cost?

Published entry prices in October 2026 run from Clinked's $11 per user a month and SuiteDash's $19 a month to FuseBase Advanced at $266 to $399 for white label. For a branded portal with three staff and 40 clients, our scenario ranged from $19 to $399 a month at list price. Moxo publishes no prices. A custom build adds the development cost on top of about $45 a month in hosting.

Can I put my own domain and logo on a client portal?

On most tools, yes, but usually from a paid tier. Softr adds a custom domain on Basic and removes its branding on Pro at $99 a month. ManyRequests gives a custom domain on Core and removes "Powered by" on Pro. Plutio sells white label as a $9 monthly add-on. Check notification emails separately: Clinked lists white-label emails only on Premium.

Which client portal tools have granular permissions?

On their pricing pages, Clinked lists role-based permissions on Premium, FuseBase lists granular permissions and groups on Advanced, Softr lists granular permissions from Pro, Noloco lists record and field permissions with unlimited roles on Build, and Assembly lists client access permissions on Advanced. Moxo lists role-based access control without naming a plan. Test any shortlisted tool with two fake clients before trusting it.

Should I build a client portal instead of buying one?

Usually not. If an off-the-shelf tool meets your permission grid and branding needs, a subscription is cheaper and faster. Building makes sense when the portal is part of your product, your permission rules are unusual, data must stay in your own database, or per-user pricing becomes expensive at several hundred client logins. OWASP found broken access control in 100% of applications it tested in 2025, so budget for permission testing.

Sources

  1. Pricing Assembly, 2026
  2. Copilot is now Assembly Assembly, 2025
  3. Pricing SuiteDash, 2026
  4. Pricing Moxo, 2026
  5. Pricing Clinked, 2026
  6. Pricing FuseBase, 2026
  7. Plans and pricing Softr, 2026
  8. Pricing Noloco, 2026
  9. Pricing Plutio, 2026
  10. Pricing ManyRequests, 2026
  11. Pricing HoneyBook, 2026
  12. Pricing Dubsado, 2026
  13. Pricing Supabase, 2026
  14. Pricing Vercel, 2026
  15. A01:2025 Broken Access Control OWASP Top 10:2025, 2026

Tags

  • Client portals
  • Web apps
  • Tools
  • Pricing
Mihajlo Stojanovic

Mihajlo Stojanovic

Co-founder, Octo Agency

Mihajlo runs the technical side of Octo Agency: Webflow builds, custom backends and the systems that keep a site editable after launch. He has shipped more than twenty Webflow sites a year as a white-label partner and writes about what survives contact with a real marketing team.

Veljko Nikolic

Reviewed by

Veljko Nikolic

Co-founder, Octo Agency

Veljko runs the build side of Octo Agency. He has shipped marketing sites for B2B teams in legal tech, health and manufacturing, and writes about what survives contact with a real review cycle.